Rise of the Robots!

RobotsJust so you know, I’ve got a whole stack of artwork, writing and clippings of magazine articles from the late 80s and early 90s here in the back room. Every so often, I’ll periodically page through them and think about those days when I was a teenager – a kind of golden era for me if you like – and smile or feel a little bit sad.

Anyway, here’s another one from this collection – a series of robots I drew to look realistic and weathered. The bits of scenery I chose to include looks a bit apocalyptic, which was a kind of phase I went through with some of my sci-fi art. Surely the movie Terminator (which I don’t believe I had seen at this point, but had seen the arcade game at the local Pizza Hut) helped influence the look of some of these robots. The Robot City series of books also played a pretty big role in my interest in robots, as did BattleTech (from FASA). Maybe even Johnny 5 from the movie Short Circuit was a contributor, as the heads with prominent lenses for eyes seems to harken to the Johnny 5 design. Anyway, whatever the influence, I loved drawing mechanical things and trying to figure out different and creative designs.

Hope you enjoy. As always, please feel free to leave a comment on some of your favorite memories or media that inspired you as the creative person you are today!

Leave a comment