’80s Flashback: Christmas Time illustration!

Christmasart1980sWith it being Christmas, I thought it would be fun to take another trip down memory lane with another old illustration I did sometime back in the ’80s. I was probably around 10 at the time, and was likely influenced by a series of books featuring talking animals by Thornton W. Burgess (that were available from our old local library). Anyway, the picture above has appeared every year at Christmas, and has had a place on my mom and dad’s refrigerator for around the last 25 to 30 years – and was still there when I went home this past Sunday.

As stated before, I’ve always enjoyed putting a lot of detail into my artwork. I can remember when I created this one, and the great time I had imagining the various scenes inside the tree, as well as in the tiny mouse dwelling below ground. I can also remember how drawing always felt like it was bringing a world to life. I wish I would have gotten around to coloring this picture in particular, as it would have been even more vibrant. But as a kid, I was always afraid that the coloring might have taken away from the detail. Maybe sometime down the road I’ll try my hand at redrawing it and adding color in!

Leave a comment